It’s over. The greatest sitcom of all time has come to a close. Nobody watched it, and ABC mistreated it, but Better Off Ted was 26 episodes of pure hilarity. The series finale showed the world why this show should have never been cancelled.

“Swag the Dog” featured lots of the usual Better Off Ted absurdity. There were a Midway-esque employee reward system, VD belt buckles, Ted’s grooming, a wacky treasure hunt, and a Mark Twain marionette. Though Dr. Bhamba wasn’t around, Shirley and Chet brought their usual wackiness to the proceedings. And any episode that ends with Veridian employees fighting over a box full of tickets is worth watching.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the Ted/Linda kiss that happened in the penultimate scene. I don’t have much to say about that, other than this: at least they “went there” before the series ended. I’m content with assuming that they rode off into the sunset together.

But sadly, that’s it for this little-viewed gem of a series. I’m unhappy that it’s over, but I’m glad that over two short seasons, I was treated to motion sensors that couldn’t detect black people, fire squirrels, lightbulbs that smelled like rotten meat, “Carl Gordon Jenkins Gordon Jenkins,” and much more. Ted, Linda, Veronica, Phil, Lem, and Rose are six of the most fun characters ever crafted on network television. I hope that the actors who portrayed them go on to do great things. They certainly have the talent. Moreover, the universe that Victor Fresco created is one that I’d like to revisit, in any way possible. I’m going to keep an eye out for his future projects.

Better Off Ted wasn’t a boastful sitcom. It didn’t aim to prove itself better than everyone else. It didn’t indulge in crazy stunt-casting (Rachelle Lefevre and Taye Diggs aside, but both of them were excellent in their roles). It didn’t shove jokes down viewers’ throats. It just entertained, plain and simple. But damn if it didn’t go out kicking and screaming, delivering one of the most amazing half-hours of television that I’ve seen in a long time. Better Off Ted didn’t imprint itself onto North America’s collective conscious, but it will always hold a special place in my heart. Long live Veridian Dynamics!

Veridian Dynamics

