I’m going to keep this one relatively short. The good news: it’s better than the critics say it is. The bad news: it’s not much better.

The plot was kind of disjointed. In fact, there wasn’t much of a plot at all, but it worked to build suspense, which is really all that this kind of show can do. I’m not a fan of the storytelling method that was employed, where the narrative was broken up by constant flashbacks, as it gave me unwelcome memories of a horrible movie called Vantage Point. (If you’ve seen it, then you know what I’m talking about.)

The characters were a mixed bag. Sean (played by Jason Ritter) and Leila (played by Sarah Roemer) were great, and their easy, playful chemistry was a pleasure to watch. Blair Underwood brought suitable gravitas to the role of President Eli Martinez. I have no clue who Simon Lee is supposed to be, but Ian Anthony Dale did a good job of portraying him – whatever that’s supposed to entail. I have a less favourable opinion of Zeljko Ivanek as Blake Sterling; he just seemed wooden. Also, Laura Innes was just plain awful as Sophia, and I fear that if I elaborate about how awful she was, I’ll descend into an invective-fuelled tirade about her lack of acting skill, so I’ll just leave it at that.

Bottom line: The characters seem to be a bit more than cardboard cutouts, and I’m interested enough to watch another episode, just to see if some questions get answered or if some of the unrelated mysteries get tied together. But if the show doesn’t start to do either of those things by the next episode, then I’m out. I suspect that a lot of other viewers feel the same.

