I apologize for the delay in posting this. I’ve been busy. You can expect more delays (and more apologies) in the future.

One of the biggest problems White Collar faced in the first half of its second season was balancing the mythology with the cases. The mythology seemed to advance at a snail’s pace for no reason other than that the show wanted delay doing anything substantial with it. “Burke’s Seven” neatly sidestepped that problem by presented a case that tied into the larger mythology.

It’s a nice change of pace for a series where some of the progress has been glacial. The case was focused on catching Mozzie’s shooter, Julian, and it zipped by quickly with a fun con that brought all the main characters together. It’s a delight to watch these guys playing off each other, cracking jokes and bantering.

Now, I could complain about all the plot holes. I could complain about how little emotional fallout there was from Mozzie’s near-death experience. I could complain about how ridiculous it was to see Peter riding on a horse. But I don’t want to, because this episode was just so much fun. I was happy to see Peter and Neal on the same page, reinforcing each other’s strengths instead of unknowingly working against each other. I also thought that it was a good idea to bring Jones into the fold and get the entire ensemble working together. Jokes were flying fast and furious, and I laughed out loud at the Nigerian prince comment and at Elizabeth’s fake dirty phone conversation.

I’m not so sure how I feel about Sara at the moment. I enjoy the fact that she’ s no longer a stick in the mud, but I’m not a fan of her smug, self-satisfied demeanour. Maybe, to paraphrase her words, we’ll get inside her head in the coming weeks and find out details about her character that make her more likable.

Overall, “Burke’s Seven” was a strong opener to the second half of the season. It gave us a fun case that folded into the larger mythology, and the stakes are higher now that we know that the case has a direct personal tie to Neal, instead of the bland Kate or the uninteresting music box. Things are looking good for White Collar.

