This is probably the last review that I’m going to write for Wilfred. There’s just not much depth or substance to this series. This week’s episode, “Acceptance,” had some good moments, but overall, it was underwhelming, just like the entire show has been thus far.

We were introduced to Ryan’s sister, Kristen, back in the pilot, and my God, was she irritating. She was still irritating in this week’s episode – no fault of Dorian Brown; I blame the writing – but at least the show found a believable way to keep her around and hopefully tone her down in the future. Now that Ryan and Kristen have decided to “accept” each other for who they are, she could possibly play a more interesting role down the line, and she probably won’t be as grating.

This episode also featured a guest spot from Ed Helms, better known as Andy Bernard on The Office. Wisely, the people behind the show just let Ed Helms be Ed Helms, and somehow his absolutely ridiculous bestiality-practicing character managed to fit into the show’s world. (This week’s installment was much better directed than last week’s tonally confused flop.) I also enjoyed the final few scenes with Ryan and Wilfred; they had a comfortable and amusing low-key vibe.

Unfortunately, “Acceptance” reinforced some of the problems that this show has. It continues to underuse Jenna for reasons that I don’t quite understand. She’s Wilfred’s owner, for crying out loud. Is it so hard to write stories that involve her? Moreover, the show continues not to be very funny. I can see that its humour, especially Wilfred’s dog-logic, is clever. However, it’s exactly what one would expect it to be, and things that aren’t surprising tend not to make me laugh.

But the show’s biggest problem is this: it hasn’t created an appealing world with compelling characters that I would want to spend time in. Comedies that fall short on the laughs from time to time can succeed as long as I enjoy “hanging out,” so to speak, with the characters in some setting that makes sense within the context of the show. However, Wilfred has absolutely failed in that regard. The only familiar setting is Ryan’s house, and the show doesn’t spend enough time there to make me feel comfortable with it. The only two characters that it has developed are Ryan and Wilfred, and even their development has been uneven; the extent to which Wilfred manipulates others changes from episode to episode, without rhyme or reason. And the show has shown zero commitment to timelines or continuity, with Jenna’s boyfriend mysteriously not even meriting a mention for two weeks in a row.

So, with that, I’m probably done with reviewing this show, though in all likelihood, I’ll continue to watch. I sense that I’ll be making the same complaints (more or less) every time. Wilfred probably just isn’t for me, and there’s no sense wasting time overanalyzing it.

