I haven’t done a 5 Awesome Songs post in ages (just over a year, to be specific). So I’m going to do one today, because I’m bored and have nothing better to do. And this time, it’s all about guilty pleasures, i.e. songs that I’m ashamed to admit that I like. But this is the Internet, and I’m anonymous, so who gives a flying fuck, right?

1. “Cool” by Gwen Stefani
Most of Stefani’s solo shit is “B-A-N-A-N-A-S,” i.e. it’s not good. But “Cool” is a retro, new-wave-inspired, sunny piece of pop. Turn down the synths, turn up the guitars, add some live drums, and this could be a No Doubt song.


2. “Check Yes Juliet” by We the Kings
This pop punk band wins the award for worst haircuts. At least this song is fun.

 

3. “Nobody’s Home” by Avril Lavigne
This one’s stretching the definition of “guilty pleasure” a bit. In fact, I think that Lavigne’s second album, Under My Skin, was underappreciated, both commercially and critically. While the rest of her output is barely tolerable, Under My Skin showed Lavigne coming into her own as a singer-songwriter with moody, pensive songs such as this one. It’s too bad that she completely changed course and opted to become a bratty pop-punk princess on her subsequent releases.


4. “Only Girl (In the World)” by Rihanna
Oh Rihanna, your music is so annoying. And sometimes, it’s oh-so-catchy. Uh-tiss uh-tiss uh-tiss uh-tiss…

 

5. “Good Girls Go Bad” by Cobra Starship feat. Leighton Meester
Cobra Starship actually has a song called “Guilty Pleasure,” but ironically, it’s not much of a guilty pleasure. On the other hand, this song, featuring Leighton Meester of Gossip Girl, is practically the definition of a guilty pleasure. (Sidenote: It’s a shame that they recorded this with Meester, because the band’s keytarist, Victoria Asher, sings the female vocal part much better.)

 

So, those are some of my guilty pleasure songs. Feel free to share yours in the comments if you’re not too embarrassed.

