I’m a little bit late to the party, but I lead a busy life, so please forgive me. Earlier this week, Canadian rock semi-legends I Mother Earth released “We Got The Love,” their first new track since 2003, on their SoundCloud account. You can check out the track after the jump:

That’s a pretty awesome tune, isn’t it? It sounds as if the band has gone back to its Blue Green Orange-era sound, with a lot of hand-played percussion and a lengthy psychedelic jam session in the middle. There’s nary a hint of the progressive/industrial metal vibe of The Quicksilver Meat Dream in the track. Blue Green Orange is my favourite I Mother Earth album (incidentally also my three favourite colours), so I’m pretty pumped. But I hope that the band hasn’t abandoned the darker side of their sound entirely. If they can find a way to merge both their psychedelic and their industrial influences, then we might be in for a real barnburner.

I Mother Earth reunited in January of this year after an eight-year hiatus, during which its members all went off to partake in various other artistic pursuits. (The bassist, Bruce Gordon, joined the Blue Man Group!) But they weren’t the only Canadian rock band that was popular at the turn of the millennium to reunite recently. The Tea Party, Canada’s favourite Eastern-influenced experimental rock band, reunited late last year, and they’re expected to release a new album in 2012. I’m pretty stoked, because I quite enjoyed Seven Circles. Also reunited recently: Treble Charger, who played a couple of shows together earlier this year. They haven’t announced plans for new music yet, but I’ll be interested to see what they put out if they do. The band originally split because of massive creative differences between vocalist/guitarists Greig Nori and Bill Priddle. (The moniker “The Canadian Beatles” is apt.) After the split, Priddle basically accused the remaining members of being a bunch of sell-outs. I don’t imagine that Priddle would want to reunite with the band if he still felt that way. So, if they do put out new music, I don’t think they’ll pick up where they left off and pursue a commercially-friendly pop-punk direction; we’ll likely be hearing more of their indie sound – more Maybe It’s Me or Wide Awake Bored than Detox.

Anyway, I’m excited to hear new music from all of these bands. The late 90’s Canadian rock scene was one of my favourite scenes in music, and these reunions are giving me a chance to relive it. Is it too much to ask for a Matthew Good Band reunion too? I hope not.

