Apparently, now I just link to Kotaku articles. Read on for this week’s What I’ve Been Reading:

  • In case you haven’t heard, Activision is enlisting the help of Oliver North to promote the upcoming Call of Duty: Black Ops II. Paolo Pedercini isn’t pleased. Neither am I. Though military first-person shooters aren’t my preferred genre of video game, I have no problem with Call of Duty’s continued existence. The franchise evidently continues to make millions of people happy. But using a war criminal whose conviction was overturned on a technicality to promote a game is just wrong. Period.
  • Michael Abbott, the man behind Brainy Gamer, weighs in again on the shitstorm caused by Taylor Clark’s profile of Jonathan Blow in The Atlantic. Whatever the outcome of the debate surrounding the “dumbness” of video games, Abbott is pleased that people are having an intelligent discourse about the issue. I’ll be giving my own take on the brouhaha in an upcoming entry.
  • Mark Serrels of Kotaku is irritated with the marketing campaign for Assassin’s Creed III. If I cared about AssCreed 3, I’d be too. Why should I advertise the product to my friends in order to unlock more advertising? Fuck you, Ubisoft. Do your own marketing.
  • You may have heard that Microsoft is going to be offering a new $99 XBox. But buyer beware! A blog post at Game Informer explains why it’s a shitty deal. If you’re not too tired from fucking Ubisoft, fuck Microsoft too.
  • The Ocean Marketing saga continues. I didn’t think it was possible for Paul Christoforo to be any more of a cancerous genital wart. I guess I was wrong. *grabs popcorn*
  • Owen Good of Kotaku has an editorial about how gamers have become desensitized to the incidence of litigation in the video game industry. I think he misses the point. Most of the lawsuits he mentioned were frivolous. When a plaintiff with a legitimate grievance fails to garner the public’s sympathy, I’ll agree with Good.
  • And now for something lighter: a funny comic strip from Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal about flower murder.

As always, feel free to post your reactions to the articles in the comments below.

