Sorry for not updating the blog this week. Things got a little hectic in real life. I’ll try to get in a couple of updates next week, but I may not be able to post a What I’ve Been Reading entry, since I will be travelling. To a far and distant land. With magic and unicorns.

No unicorns for you this week, but there are catfish, a.k.a. the unicorns of the sea. “Who calls them that?” you ask. Me. And that’s all that matters.

  • A group of catfish in Southwestern France have trained themselves to kill pigeons. They jump up onto a beach, grab the birds, and then wriggle back into the water to devour their prey. Next step: the catfish go after small mammals. Then larger mammals. Then humans. We’re doomed. And to think I thought the dolphins would be taking over…
  • Ars Technica has a list of what its contributors believe to be the most overrated games. *looks at list* GAHHHH! WHERE’S FAR CRY??? THIS LIST IS AWFUL AND ARS TECHNICA IS FULL OF MORONS!!!! *whiny Internet commenter rage* (Seriously, though, Far Cry is pretty terrible.)
  • 4chan, a.k.a. the Internet’s Rectum – and I’m not the only one who calls them that – has succeeded in voting glorious and venerable supreme leader of North Korea, Kim Jong-un, as Time Magazine’s Person of the Year. Whether Time will honour the poll remains to be seen, but I suggest they do, lest Young Kimmy goes nuclear on our asses.
  • Kotaku has compiled a list of the best video game music of 2012. The soundtracks for Gravity Rush and Botanicula are pure joy. Slightly less joyful: the soft, elegiac piano of Mass Effect 3’s soundtrack.
  • Some Draw Something players are on a mission to put Pikachu in every single one of their drawings. This is their blog. It’s the best blog on the Internet.
  • Scientists have succeeded in making neurons out of urine. That’s right: one day, you might be able to regrow your brain with your pee.
  • Ben Kuchera of the Penny Arcade Report writes about attribution problems in games journalism. Gaming sites often fail to cite their sources properly and rarely verify sources, leading to the spreading of rumours and even outright lies as facts. Speaking of attribution, I should probably let you know that I stole this blog post from my buddy Dave.

This may be the last blog post I make for a while, depending on how busy I am next week, but I’ll definitely put up a bunch of year-in-review posts towards the end of December. Until then, feel free to post comments below.

