It’s a week of big news and not-so-big news. Luckily, I’m here to cover all of it. And by all of it, I mean a small portion of it. Cut me some slack; I’m a one-man operation!

  • Big news: NBA player Jason Collins has become the first person playing in one of North America’s four major professional sports leagues to come out. Writing for Sports Illustrated, he explains his decision to do so. A congratulatory e-fist-bump to you, good sir. Hopefully this will be seen as an important step on the long march towards LGBT equality.
  • Monika Bartyzel of The Week is fed up with the overuse of the term “manic pixie dream girl.” What started as a means of criticizing offbeat women who existed as fantasies dreamed up by men to service male characters has become a dismissive, knee-jerk criticism of any quirky female character. The result is a further narrowing of what is acceptable for female characters in movies and television to be and do. I fully agree with Bartyzel. In fact, I’ve expressed similar thoughts before, when the term was incorrectly applied to New Girl’s Jessica Day. Heck, New Girl was even created by a woman, Liz Meriwether.
  • Are you the kind of person who likes to get records on vinyl? Writing for AbsolutePunk, Nick Mango explains why you’re unlikely to get a better sound from vinyl records as compared to CDs without a very sophisticated sound system. Having grown up after the vinyl era ended, I can’t say I see the appeal of buying vinyl. I mean, they make nice collectors’ items, but finding a place to store all those record sleeves would be difficult for me.
  • I don’t know enough about what happened to weigh in, and I haven’t see the “videos,” but here’s tour mate Kitty Pryde’s take on that whole wacky Danny-Brown-oral-sex incident. Kitty takes on the sexual and racial politics of the issue. Even if her account of the events is untrue, it’s a thought-provoking read.  (Courtesy of Noisey)
  • This brings back fond memories: I remember playing Hugo II: Whodunit, a really terrible adventure game, when I was younger. It was awful, illogical, and kind of buggy. But that didn’t stop me from trying to play it. Now, Richard Cobbett of PC Gamer has a very funny retrospective on the game.
  • Writing for Vice, Henry Hargreaves has a gallery of the crazy requests for their dressing rooms that rockstars have, known as “riders.” (My personal favourite: Nine Inch Nails just wants two boxes of corn starch.) It might just seen like crazy, vain excess, but the top commenter, Darren Priest, has pointed out that rockstars use crazy riders as a simple way of checking that a contract has been fulfilled, especially since they’re working with a lot of sophisticated equipment onstage.

Okay, so there wasn’t much news in here. But I hope you had fun perusing these links anyway. Catch ya later, folks.

