I put a contact form up on this blog a couple of weeks ago on a lark. I expected to get a steady stream of penis-related spam delivered to my inbox, but to my surprise, I was contacted by the head of indie label Take This To Heart Records asking me to check out Arrows Over Athens’ upcoming EP, Myths, Monsters & The Maker. I hadn’t heard of this band until that point, so I was curious and took a listen. Arrows Over Athens sounds like the weird lovechild of Boys Night Out and Paramore. That’s a good thing. The music is typical post-hardcore/pop-punk fare, but they pull it off with a lot of energy and minimal pointless screaming. (They could stand to go easy on that double bass drum kick, though.) The singers have great voices too, so it’s not like you have to listen to great riffs propping up some whiny teenager’s nasal vocals. If you’re interested, you can listen to their previous releases at Bandcamp.

What have I learned from this? Apparently, despite my anonymity and my total lack of professionalism – this ain’t my day job, after all – my blog is prominent enough to be granted press access by a small indie label. Yay me!

