Three links to kick off the new year. Woo hoo!

  • Deane Barker of Boing Boing writes about the decline of public gathering spaces where people socialize. She contends that social media have largely replaced these spaces. That might be true, but they don’t compensate for the lack of face-to-face interaction.
  • Writing for Rock Paper Shotgun, Sin Vega takes a deeper look at the game Consortium, which I named my sixth favourite game of the year. They contend that by giving you very little information about your situation, the game allows for genuine role-playing: do I ask questions to clarify my situation, or do I pretend I know what I’m doing and just go along with it? That’s not a point I considered on my first few run-throughs of the game, but it’s something I’ll keep in mind for my next one.
  • An e-friend of mine, Staggering Stew Bum, has decided to do a kill-everything run-through of Deus Ex: Human Revolution. That’s right, he’s trying to kill every killable NPC. He’s documenting his progress in a multi-part series over at his blog. The first (very hilarious) part is here for your enjoyment.

At this juncture, it’s critical that I remind my readership: virtual murder isn’t real murder. Don’t go killing people in real life, okay?

Enjoy 2015, nerds!

 

