Sorry for last weekend’s hiatus. Sometimes I don’t have anything to share. But this week, I have three things to share. Huzzah!

  • G2A is shady Steam key reseller that has been implicated in a couple of scandals and has facilitated various forms of fraud. Patrick Klepek of Kotaku explores how they’ve gotten so big. As for me, all I can say is fuck G2A.
  • Oh dear. The marketing team for Deus Ex: Mankind Divided continues to be clueless as fuck. Echoing the recent Black Lives Matter movement, they’ve released a piece of promotional art featuring a sign saying Augs Lives Matter. Jim Sterling of The Jimquisition explains why this is a very bad idea. Using a present-day movement for racial justice as a mere promotional tool for a video game is gauche at best and downright insensitive at worst, especially since there isn’t a one-to-one allegorical correspondence between BLM and the augmented people’s situation in the game. That being said, I think Sterling is being a little careless in failing to properly distinguish between Mankind Divided the game and its promotional materials. I know I bang this drum a lot, but video games seems increasingly disconnected from their promotional materials, to the point that it’s best to just not pay attention to video game promotional campaigns. I’ve realized that they’re not for me, i.e. the kind of person who is very plugged into goings-on in the gaming industry.

That’s all for this week. I actually have a short piece planned that I hope to get up here next week, time-permitting. But I’m not going to tell you what it’s about, in case I don’t get around to it. Smell ya later!

 

