An annual tradition for this blog is to list stuff I’m looking forward to in the coming year. Because I’m about two weeks behind where I need to be, here’s the stuff I’m looking forward to in 2017.

It just so happened that a lot of the stuff I was anticipating for 2016 didn’t actually end up coming out last year. Some of the stuff I listed here will likely end up getting pushed back to 2018. Don’t sue me if it does.

10. Night in the Woods
I know some people bristle at the whole “emotional indie adventure game” thing, seeing it as overdone and overpraised. But while the genre (to the extent that it is a well-defined genre) has had its fair share of poorly-written walking simulators, Night in the Woods seems like a unique experience, mixing the standard walk-and-talk with a little light platforming to keeps things fresh. Plus its warm colour palette and adorable anthropomorphic creatures give it a really neat aesthetic. This game has gotten a lot of positive pre-release buzz, so let’s hope it lives up to the hype. Here’s a trailer:

9. Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony
I’m currently playing Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair, and it has its hooks deep in me. So you can bet I’m looking forward to the next installment in Spike Chunsoft’s murder-mystery visual novel series. This one boasts a female player character with an actual Ultimate talent (each character has been chosen to attend a prestigious academy for displaying excellence in a particular field) known from the outset, so the game seems like it’s looking to switch things up a bit to keep the series fresh. Plus, this is the first game in the series (barring the Another Episode spin-off) not to be developed for PSP (it’s on the Vita and PS4) so the production values can be significantly higher. The game is already out in Japan, and it should be hitting North American shores in the latter half of this year. Here’s a Japanese trailer:

8. Eleven Little Roosters
Part of the problem with being late with this blog post is that some of the things on this list have already debuted – for instance, Rooster Teeth’s interactive comedic murder mystery Eleven Little Roosters. (Apparently I have a thing for murder mysteries. Who’da thunk it?) After having watched the first episode, I can confirm than Eleven Little Roosters is every bit as gloriously goofy, stupid, and ridiculous as you’ve probably come to expect from a Rooster Teeth production. (These are the guys who made Red vs. Blue, after all.) Now whether the actual murder mystery will live up to my expectations remains to be seen. Here’s a trailer:

7. Season 2 of Sense8
It’s difficult to explain the appeal of Netflix’s Sense8 to someone who’s never watched it before. The best way I can describe it is that it’s a light sci-fi show about human connection, which sounds kind of cheesy and undersells just how fantastic this series is. There’s nothing quite like it out there. With so much cynicism in the prestige drama space, it’s wonderful to see something so positive and life-affirming on my computer screen. The Christmas special (yes, this is the kind of show that does a one-off Christmas special) whetted my appetite for more Sense8, so I definitely want to see some more ASAP. Too bad I have to wait until May. There’s no trailer for Season 2 yet, so here’s a trailer for the Christmas special instead:

6. Your Name.
I don’t think I’d be as interested in Your Name. if it hadn’t been one of the most buzzed-about anime films of all time. Makoto Shinkai’s latest film has smashed box-office records for Japanese films, and it has become one of the most critically-adored films in recent memory. Unfortunately, it hasn’t yet hit North American shores, so I can’t yet confirm if it lives up to the hype; I’ll have to wait until April when Funimation finally puts it in theatres. I have my reservations about the dub – Stephanie Sheh seems miscast in the lead female role, and I don’t know if it’s a good idea for RADWIMPS to re-record the soundtrack in English – but a subtitled version will be available, and maybe the dub will actually be a pleasant surprise. In any case, here’s the trailer:

5. Mass Effect: Andromeda
Mass Effect is one of my favourite video game series, so of course I’m excited to see where it goes next. Set in an entirely new galaxy (the titular one), this installment promises more exploration and freedom than the original trilogy. I’m not wholly on the board with the move to a semi “open-world” format, but BioWare did pretty well with Dragon Age: Inquisition, so maybe it’ll work well here too. In any case, here’s a gameplay trailer:

4. Season 3 of Bravest Warriors
Fans have been waiting three years (no joke!) for the third season of Cartoon Hangover’s cult hit about four teenage galactic superheroes. And fans have accumulated a whole bunch of burning questions. What are Emotion Lords? What’s up with Plum? Will Chris and Beth finally hook up? Hopefully this season will hold the answers. (Too bad it’s only viewable on shitty streaming service VRV. How the fuck does a streaming service launch with console and mobile support, but not PC browser support?) Here’s a trailer:

3. Brand New’s new album
I think I should institute a new rule where if something appeared on last year’s list, then it cannot appear on this year’s list. Brand New actually pushed back the release of their new (and final!) album from last year to this one, because they want to get it just right. They’ve been working on it for eight years now; you’d think they’d at least have a release date by now. In any case, if they want to tour with these new songs at all – they’re breaking up next year – then they really should release the album as soon as possible. For now, here’s recent single “I Am a Nightmare,” which will probably appear on the upcoming record. (Or not. You never know with Jesse Lacey and his crew.)

2. Upcoming 3D platformers
My love for classic 3D platformers is no secret. (Seriously, I’m one of the four people who actually liked Donkey Kong 64.) But since Psychonauts, there has been a drought of ambitious 3D platforming games, and I haven’t been able to experience new entries in one of my favourite genres. With the announcement of A Hat in Time and Lobodestroyo a few years back, it seemed like my prayers had been answered. Unfortunately, game development takes a long time, and Lobodestroyo may have fallen into development hell. (Seriously, wouldn’t it be great if we could just imagine video games into existence?) In any case, A Hat in Time is finally set to come out this year, along with the charming Poi and the N64 Rare throwback Yooka-Laylee (which is totally legally distinct from Banjo-Kazooie, we promise!). I’m excited to get my hands on these games, if only to satisfy my nostalgia. In the meantime, here’s a trailer for Yooka-Laylee:

1. Persona 5
It topped last year’s list, and it’s topping this one too. Persona 5 will finally be in my hands in April. This super-stylish JRPG about teenage phantom thieves looks like it’ll scratch my itch for weird stories and wacky monsters, and I can’t wait to see what Atlus has up their sleeve. Here’s a trailer to tide you over:

Honourable Mentions
And finally some honourable mentions, divided by category.

Music:

  • The Menzingers – After the Party
  • Now, Now

Movies:

  • Mary and the Witch’s Flower

Video games:

  • The PC port of Danganronpa Another Episode: Ultra Despair Girls
  • Horizon Zero Dawn [PS4]
  • Manifold Garden [PC, Mac, Linux, PS4]
  • NieR:Automata [PC, PS4]
  • Ni No Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom [PS4]
  • Prey [PC, PS4, Xbone]
  • Tacoma [PC, Mac, Linux, Xbone]
  • Tokyo Dark [PC, Mac]
  • YIIK [PC, PS4, Vita, Wii U]
  • PC bundle – Zero Escape: The Nonary Games

TV series, anime, and web series:

  • Interviews with Monster Girls
  • A highly unlikely third season of Noragami. (I can dream, damn it!)
  • Santa Clarita Diet

Whew! That’s a lot of stuff. In the end, I’ll probably get around to experiencing about half of it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

