Hello, dear readers! Welcome to another edition of What I’ve Been Reading!

  • Elizabeth Preston of New Scientist writes about a type of eye fluke than live inside the lens of a fish’s eye (a literal fisheye lens, haha) and controls its behaviour. Scary!
  • Over at Waggish, David Auerbach writes about the conflicts between overculture – what’s discussed by coastal elites and the media class in major cities – and the underculture – basically everything else – in politics. There’s a lot to take in here, but I do want to point out his usage of the phrase “commodification of social justice,” which is a concept I’ve been concerned about for a while.

That’s all for now. I might starting including quotes from each of the linked pieces starting with the next What I’ve Been Reading, if I’m not too lazy.

